Three games you should watch this weekend: 27-29/1/2017

In the first of what might become a regular feature, we tell you what games you should be watching this weekend, and how to find them.

With an absence of NHL games this weekend, you’d be forgiven for thinking all your hockey-based viewing would be limited to just the All-Star game. Well, you’d be wrong.

Here’s your guide to the three best games that are freely available on the internet.

1. Boston Pride @ Connecticut Whale

Date Faceoff Watch at
Friday 27th Jan 19:00EST/00:00GMT YouTube (Click Here)

The race is hotting up in the battle to avoid the Pride in the Isobel Cup, with just two points separating the chasing pack. Next up in the rest of the league’s thus-far futile attempts at stopping them are Kelly Babstock and the bottom-placed Whale, who have been unsuccessful in three attempts against the Pride this year, and have lost their last three games. Will that change Friday night?

2. Les Canadiennes de Montreal @ Brampton Thunder

Date Faceoff Watch at
Saturday 28th Jan 18:30EST/23:30GMT CWHLLive (Click Here)

Second plays third in the CWHL this weekend, as this week’s CWHLLive game sees Brampton try to keep third place in the standings, facing second-placed Montreal, who have already confirmed their involvement in the Clarkson Cup. Will Les Canadiennes let up a little bit, or will the pressure mount on the Thunder? They are only three points ahead of the fourth-placed Toronto Furies, and will be keen to avoid a semi-final with the Calgary Inferno.

3. New York Riveters @ Connecticut Whale

Date Faceoff Watch at
Sunday 29th Jan 15:00EST/20:00GMT YouTube (Click Here)

The second of the Whale’s home double this weekend sees my team, the Riveters, make the journey to the Northford Ice Pavillion. Both teams will have played on Friday night (the Rivs travel to Buffalo to take on the Beauts) and in the race for second seed (ensuring home ice advantage in the Isobel Cup semi-finals) neither side will want to give ground up against the other.

Bonus: Calgary Inferno @ Team Japan

Date Faceoff Watch at
Saturday 28th Jan 04:00EST/09:00GMT icehockey-ch (Click Here)
Sunday 29th Jan 04:00EST/09:00GMT icehockey-ch (Click Here)

It’s a bye week for the CWHL league leaders, but they have given themselves the absolute opposite of a weekend off, by flying an entire ocean away and playing two games against Team Japan. It’s a bit of a late night and/or early morning but I believe the streams are free, albeit will require you to run the page through a translator.

Is your team not on this list? Do you think they should be? Get in touch via puckitbloguk@gmail.com, tell us the match, the faceoff time, include a link where people can watch it, and a good explanation about why they belong on this list.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: