Three games you should watch this weekend: 4-5/2/2017

Every week, we’ll pick you a few games you should be keeping an eye on around the hockey world. This week, we run round a CWHL epic, a big game in Britain, and an NHL Original Six matchup.

1. Les Canadiennes de Montréal @ Toronto Furies

CWHL Saturday 4/2 15:45ET/20:45GMT Sportsnet(CA), thecwhl.com/sportsnet (click here) (outside CA)

The first of a Canadiennes/Furies double header gives you a chance to see a game that will without question showcase the very best that the CWHL has to offer. A Montreal v Toronto rivalry is always vicious no matter who’s playing, but when you have talents like Marie-Phillippe Poulin, Natalie Spooner, Charline Labonté and Julie Chu playing there is simply no comparable game. This, frankly, is some of the best of the best.

It also sees the chance of history, as Montreal’s Caroline Ouellette could become the all-time leading CWHL goalscorer if she puts the puck in the net just once.

If you want the chance to see hockey history made, this is your appointment viewing this weekend.

2. Coventry Blaze @ Manchester Storm

EIHL (UK) Saturday 4/2 14:00ET/19:00GMT ManchesterStorm.tv(click here) – £8

Seventh plays eighth in the EIHL tonight, with the hosts currently three points above the Blaze, with three games in hand. Coventry are looking over their shoulders – two points up on Dundee in ninth, who have a game in hand – and the Storm will look to widen the gap between themselves and the playoff cutoff point – the top eight in the EIHL make the after-party.

 

3. Toronto Maple Leafs @ Boston Bruins

NHL Saturday 4/2 19:00ET/00:00GMT Sportsnet, Premier Sports, NHL.TV

An Original Six matchup featuring one of the most exciting young teams in the NHL playing one of their major divisional rivals is always worth a watch, and this one makes no difference.

Auston Matthews, William Nylander and Mitch Marner have made the Leafs compulsory viewing once again, and with both teams fighting for playoff position and divisional supremacy this is a game that is sure to be worth staying up late for.

Should your team’s game be on this list? Tweet us and tell us why at @puckitblog!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: